Congrats, You Won as a Writer

Erwin Aguila
5 min readAug 30, 2024

--

When people think of ‘win’, they picture a medal hung around a neck, a plaque, or a title proudly held. Whether it’s a school competition, a promotion at work, the glory of the Olympics, or the pursuit of a personal goal, these symbols of achievement are celebrated and sought after.

Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

But you, while reading this article, what drives you to write?

What compels your fingers to tap on your phone or laptop, effortlessly translating your thoughts into words on a screen?

I started writing on this platform in the last week of July, and it’s completely new to me. I didn’t know anything about how it works, how to write the articles I wanted, or how to monitor my stats.

Through YouTube videos, I managed to create my account, though I’m not a member yet.

I’ve published nine articles, but they’ve gained very few total reads and views (less than 30 views and only 33% total reads).

As a writer, it’s stressful because doubts and low self-confidence start to build. Questions about underestimating myself begin to appear:

I did my best to gain the attention of readers, but I guess it wasn’t enough.”
“My topic is too common. Readers find it boring because they already know the plot.

In response, I visited writers with a high number of followers and followed them. I gained some followers, but it wasn’t much. I also searched for groups on the platform and joined them, but nothing worked.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had so many questions in my mind as I looked at my results. I paused my writing for a few days, resisting the urge to think of another topic.

But, I dreamed to be a writer.

Wake up. Get up. It’s just the beginning. Everyone starts as a rookie.

You might begin with a few followers, but eventually, thousands will look up to you and see you as their role model.

I’ll ask you the question again: What drives you to write?

  • Is it to earn money?
  • To gain fame?
  • To share your thoughts?
  • Or to provide information as a professional?

Did I hit the right reason? Maybe, yes?

After days, weeks, months, years, or even decades of writing, how can you say that you’ve won as a writer? You might say yes — you’ve gained a lot of followers, claps, engagements and impressions.

But honestly, have you truly ‘won’?

You bring inspiration to other people.

I can say you inspire other people. Right now. Right pushing yourself to publish your work.

Let’s say you’re posting your articles for people who want to give up on their work, career, studies, and so on. But then, in a moment of change, they come across your work on how to not give up even when life is tough, how to stay motivated, how to start a business, and more.

For every reader who views your published works, it gives them a driving force to do more for their future — to become an engineer, a doctor, or even a writer like you someday.

You are giving them reasons to live with a purpose. You are giving them hope to not give up because they knew the efforts you gave for every articles.

The every part of articles you’ve created don’t just benefit you; it’s the readers who truly gain from your stories.

By your life lessons, realizations. They are more than enough.

You’re not just writing, you are everything.

Writing is a passion. Writing is love.

And you are sharing it with others — the love you pour into your published works.

I’m not saying you’re declaring “I love you” or expressing your feelings directly in other languages. Nor am I suggesting that you’re confessing a long-standing crush through your article.

What I mean is that the way you dedicate yourself to your work is reflected in how others perceive it. In every word you choose, in every thought you share, your love for what you do shines through.

You are doing what you love, and they love what you’re doing for them.

You write, they gain.

You may say, “I’m doing it for myself. For my success. For my own wins,” or, “I want to be a top writer in the world, leaving a legacy through my works.” Those are powerful dreams, and I want them too as a writer.

But have you ever thought that you are helping billions of people become entrepreneurs, professionals, and successful in their own right? If not, it’s good that you’re reading this.

You must realize that your writing is a significant contribution to our shared setting — the world.

From the moment you spent hours to do research. From the moment you spent your time to talk to other people. From the moment you are making your first draft.

You write because it’s your passion. You write because you are contributing to everyone’s gain.

You share, they share.

Domino Effect…

You are sharing your stories. You are sharing your experiences so far in your career. You are writing from your business. You are drafting because you want to inspire others.

But what you share will be shared by your readers with others.

If you share one story through your article, it creates a lasting legacy and a significant win in your life.

Your experiences may be similar to those of others. The life you have and the life they have are different. But once you share your stories, they become part of their experience as well.

What you’ve done as a writer is a contribution as a person, not just as a human.

As a beginner in writing, I’m still learning, and I have a lot to learn. To achieve what I want or what others need, we need you, fellow writers.

As others say, “Once a writer, always a writer.” And you are not just an ordinary writer; you are significant to everyone who reads your work.

Remember. You won because you wrote.

That’s all.

Thank you.

--

--

Erwin Aguila

Engineer & Writer | Specializing in Engineering Design & SEO Content | Connecting the dots between tech and storytelling